District 3 News

  • Dallas ISD Trustee Dan Micciche | January 2020

    Posted by Dallas ISD on 1/31/2020

    Good work and good deeds are recognized in District 3

    The amazing work that teachers do every day to help students succeed often goes unrecognized. Fortunately, that is not the case for two District 3 teachers who have been named 2019 Teachers of the Year by the Greater East Dallas Chamber of Commerce: Jennifer Edoghtou from L.L. Hotchkiss Elementary School and Jose Delgado from Bryan Adams High School. These District 3 teachers were nominated by members of the community and chosen to receive the award based on their use of innovative and unique programs that improve and promote education. They deserve our heartfelt congratulations. 

    The finalists for the Dallas ISD Teacher of the Year were announced recently, and Becky Brown from Emmett J. Conrad High School is in the running. The winners will be announced on Jan. 25 at a special ceremony. I’m sure everyone in District 3 wishes Becky Brown the best of luck. 

    While only one District 3 teacher made the list of finalists, any of this year’s Campus Teachers of the Year could have easily been there with her. We are lucky to have so many excellent teachers and staff in our schools, and I would like everyone to join me in congratulating this year’s campus winners:

    • Sarah A. Rose—Alex Sanger Preparatory School
    • Priscella Suazo— Bayles Elementary School
    • Amy Solorio—Bryan Adams High School
    • Alyssa R. Rodriguez—Casa View Elementary School
    • Lilian Nwachukwu—S.S. Conner Elementary School
    • Becky E. Brown—Emmett J. Conrad High School
    • Aaron Adam Aguilar—W.H. Gaston Middle School
    • Denise Santino—W.H. Gaston Middle School
    • Lloyd E. Turney—Charles A. Gill Elementary School
    • Heidi A. Zeko—Victor H. Hexter Elementary School
    • Gloria Garcia—Highland Meadows Elementary School
    • Gordon Morriss, Jr.—Robert T. Hill Middle School
    • Stacy L. Dugger—L.L. Hotchkiss Elementary School
    • Gerardo Mercado—Jack Lowe Sr. Elementary School
    • Josefina Esquivel—Jill Stone Elementary School at Vickery Meadow
    • William B. Messimer—Edwin J. Kiest Elementary School
    • Bree Albertson—Larry Smith Elementary School
    • Natoya D. Thompson—Lee McShan Jr. Elementary School
    • Laura H. Escutia—Martha Turner Reilly Elementary School
    • Zaida J. Ortiz Pagani—Reinhardt Elementary School
    • Billy Paul Jr. Walker—Sam Tasby Middle School
    • Monica Lynn Spivey—George W. Truett Elementary School 

    Bryan Adams High School freshman Kaveion Morris, who a few weeks ago saved a young girl from drowning on his way to school, was recognized for his brave and selfless action by U.S. Rep. Eddie Bernice Johnson. Principal Ryan Bott and I were there for the event and could not be prouder of Morris and the principles being instilled in students at Bryan Adams High School.

    Comments (-1)