• Booker T. Washington High School for the Performing and Visual Arts

    Six Commended Students in the 2015 National Merit Scholarship Program


    Dallas, TX---Principal Dr. Scott Rudes of Booker T. Washington announced today Rory D. Green, Alfredo Jahn, Casey H. Lampert, Ebonie S. Pollock, Nastassia E. Urnov, Carolyn E. Villalobos, have been named Commended Students in the 2015 National Merit Scholarship Program. A Letter of Commendation from the school and National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC), which conducts the program, will be presented by the principal to these scholastically talented seniors.  Semi-Finalists from Booker T. Washington HSPVA are Sarah Klein, Simon Cowen, and Byron Otis.


    About 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise. Although they will not continue in the 2015 competition for National Merit Scholarship awards, Commended Students place among the top five percent of more than 1.5 million students who entered the 2015 competition by taking the 2013 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT).

     “The young men and women being named Commended Students have demonstrated outstanding potential for academic success,” commented a spokesperson for NMSC.

    “These students represent a valuable national resource; recognizing their accomplishments, as well as the key role their schools play in their academic development, is vital to the advancement of educational excellence in our nation. We hope that this recognition will help broaden their educational opportunities and encourage them as they continue their pursuit of academic success.”