• Joe Carreon

    Term Began 2023
    Term Expires 2026

    District 8-Northwest Dallas, Love Field, and parts of East and West Dallas

    Ethics Agreement

    Board President

    Joe Carreón is a proud product of northwest Dallas where he attended Dallas ISD schools David G. Burnet, Julian T. Saldivar, and E.H. Cary. 

    Through the hard work of his parents and community, he became the first in his family to graduate from high school and later college.  Joe earned a bachelor’s degree from Southern Methodist University, a master’s degree in public policy from the John F. Kennedy School of Government at Harvard and a law degree from the SMU Dedman School of Law.  

    Experiencing first-hand how education can empower a family, Joe has worked to ensure that the opportunities he was allotted are accessible to all children.  During college, he worked at David G. Burnet elementary school, where he once attended kindergarten. Later, Joe joined AmeriCorps and the Food on the Move program working to ensure that kids in his community had access to nutritious meals during the summer. And most recently, he returned to SMU to help coordinate programs aimed at increasing the graduation rate of first-generation college students. 

    He has served in various government offices including the Dallas Mayor’s Office, the Office of the Colorado Governor, and the White House. He has also served on numerous community boards, including the Dallas Hispanic Bar Association, the Congressional Hispanic Caucus Institute Alumni Association - Dallas Chapter, the Dallas Housing Finance Corporation, and the City of Dallas Board of Adjustment. A longtime DISD volunteer, Joe has been a strong supporter of his neighborhood’s parent-teacher organizations and has served on various Dallas ISD advisory boards.

    Today, Joe is a practicing attorney and an active member of his community. He is the President of the Bachman-Northwest Highway Community Association and a founding member of the Friends of Bachman Lake.  

    Joe was elected to the Dallas Independent School District Board of Trustees in November 2020.


  • District 8 Schools/ Escuelas del Distrito 8

    Elementary Schools/Primarias

    • Arcadia Park
    • Gabe P. Allen Charter School
    • David G. Burnet
    • César Chávez Learning Center
    • Leonides Gonzalez Cigarroa, M.D
    • Lorenzo DeZavala
    • Obadiah Knight
    • Maple Lawn
    • Eladio Martinez Learning Center
    • Jose "Joe" May
    • Esperanza “Hope” Medrano
    • Montessori Academy at Onesimo Hernandez
    • Jesús Moroles Expressive Arts Vanguard
    • Mount Auburn STEAM
    • Personalized Preparatory at Sam Houston
    • Oran M. Roberts
    • Julian T. Saldivar
    • Stevens Park
    • Ignacio Zaragoza

    Middle Schools/Secundarias

    • Dallas Environmental Science Academy
    • Francisco F. “Pancho” Medrano
    • Raúl Quintanilla Sr. STEAM Academy
    • Thomas J. Rusk
    • Alex W. Spence

    Multi-Level Schools/Escuelas Multinivel

    • Medical District Biomedical School
    • Jesús Moroles Expressive Arts Vanguard
    • Solar Preparatory School for Boys
    • Solar Preparatory School for Girls

    High Schools/Preparatorias

    • Innovation, Design, Entrepreneurship Academy at Fannin PLC
    • Multiple Careers Magnet Center
    • North Dallas