• `

    President Anson Jones
       The School is named after Anson Jones, physician, statesman, and President of the Republic of Texas.  Anson Jones  was the last president of the Texas republic (1844–46). He was born in Great Barrington, Massachusetts in 1798. He studied medicine and after  an itinerant business and medical career, went to Texas in 1833 and became a doctor. He joined the revolutionary forces in the war against Mexico and was present at the battle of San Jacinto (1836). Entering politics, Jones was a member of the Texas congress, was appointed by President Sam Houston as minister to the United States in 1838, was dismissed by President Mirabeau B. Lamar in 1839, and served as a senator. His appointment as Secretary of State in the second Houston administration (1841–44) prepared the way for his election as president in 1844. Following the annexation of Texas, Jones resigned his authority to the new governor of the state. He passed away in 1858.