• Online applications to magnet schools will be available online beginning November 2020 through January 31, 2021 on the DISD website https://www.dallasisd.org/domain/2738.  Students may select up to two magnet schools.

    Students must meet GPA and test score eligibility to be qualified to apply to a magnet program. Students applying to a magnet program must meet the following eligibility:

    • Minimum Grade Point Average (GPA) in core subjects (Reading/Language Arts, Math, Science and Social Studies) 
    • Minimum Measurement of Academic Progress (MAP) or other norm referenced test score minimum

    Exception: For all Talented & Gifted schools and Townview Science and Engineering, 80% grade point average in in core subjects (Reading/Language Arts, Math, Science and Social Studies) See the Magnet Schools page for a list of schools

    STANDARDIZED TEST ELIGIBILITY

    Due to the COVID 19 pandemic, all State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR®) administrations scheduled for April, May, and June 2020 were canceled. In lieu of using STAAR scores as eligibility for Magnet admission, Measurement of Academic Progress (MAP) assessments will be used.

    Once the parent fills out the application and uploads all supporting documents, Travis will determine if the applicant has met the criteria to advance to testing round. Parents of eligible applicants will be contacted to schedule the applicant’s Magnet School entrance testing day. Parents will also be notified if the applicant does not meet the criteria for entrance into Travis TAG. 

    Eligible applicants will complete the Naglieri Nonverbal Ability Test (NNAT) and be given a writing prompt for an essay. The NNAT is a timed 30-minute test and the applicant will have 1.5 hours to complete the essay. Students need only take the NNAT test and complete an essay once and may choose from the following dates.

     

    Travis Testing Nights:  5:45-8pm

    4th & 5th Grades   

    Thursday December 10

    Thursday December 17

    Thursday January 7

    Thursday January 14

    Thursday January 21

    Tuesday February 2

     

    6th-8th Grades 

    Tuesday December 8

    Tuesday December 15

    Tuesday January 12

    Tuesday January 19

    Thursday January 28

    Thursday February 4