• music

    Dr. Michael Jacko, Director of Music Conservatory



    Booker T Washington HSPVA is the DISD magnet school for the performing and visual arts, and is one of the top high schools in the nation for the study of music.  The BTW Music Conservatory offers a wide range of interests for the music student.  These interests include classical and jazz studies with extensive courses in vocal music, instrumental music, music composition and music theory. Students pursue a core course of study with additional electives.


    Awards and Honors

    The BTWHSPVA Music Conservatory has received national recognition and state honors since our inception in 1976.

     •  Five Time Grammy Signature School Winner

     •  Major performances at Carnegie Hall and the Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Hall

     •  More than 200 Student Downbeat Awards

     •  More than 30 Grammy Awards by our Alumni

     •  Multiple Grand Champion Awards at the Monterrey Jazz Festival

     •  National Scholars of the Arts recipients

     •  National Invitational Festival Best in Class Awards and Grand Champion Awards from our Choral, Orchestra and Wind Ensemble programs

     •  TMEA Texas All State Students in Choral, Jazz, Orchestra and Wind Studies

     •  UIL State Solo and Ensemble Outstanding Musician Awards

     •  UIL Sweepstakes Awards for Choral, Orchestra and Wind Ensemble


    Our faculty are some of the most respected professional musicians and educators in the nation. ​



    Partial List of Notable Music Alumni

    Keith Anderson – Sax


    Edie Brickell and the New Bohemians


    Aaron Comess - Drums, The Spin Doctors


    Damin Criswell - Major Movie, Commercial, Composer/Writer


    Tiger Darrow - Major Movie, Vocalist, Composer


    Alan Emert – Brave Combo


    Andrew Griffith - Drums, Cedar Walton


    Roy Hargrove - Trumpet


    Sam Harris – Piano


    Joe Jackson – Trombone Leader, Airmen of Note

    Daniel Jones – Keyboards


    Norah Jones – Vocal


    John Koen - Cello, Philadelphia Orchestra


    Bralon Lacey – Bass, Erykah Badu


    Frank LoCrasto - Piano, Pat Martino


    Keith Loftis - Ray Charles


    Luke Marantz – Piano


    Matt Marantz - Sax


    Shawn Martin - Piano, Kirk Franklin


    Danny O'Brien – Brave Combo


    Tim Owens – Vocal, Atlantic Records


    Michael Palma – Piano


    Roger Roe - Oboe, Indianapolis Orchestra


    Fred Sanders - Piano, Leaning House Records


    Robert “Sput” Searight – God’s Property


    Max Townsley - Guitar


    Eric White – Drums, Reprise Records


    RC Williams Piano, Erykah Badu


    Donessa Washington - Vocal, Kirk Whalum