Return to Headlines

Booker T. Mock Trial Team Wins DISD Regionals!

On Tuesday, February 6th, the DISD Mock Trial Awards Luncheon was held at the Dallas Bar Association's Arts District Mansion.
Congratulations to Booker T's Mock Trial team for winning the DISD Regional Competition for the third year in a row.
Returning DISD Champion team members include Eryn Anum (Theatre 2025), Audrey Buehler (Theatre 2025), Molly Chakery (Theatre 2024), Isabel Gameros (Theatre 2024), Olivia Lang (Theatre 2025), Maxine Louthan (Theatre 2025), and Erin Mansour (Theatre 2025). First time team members Miranda Churchhill (Theatre 2025), Ellie Oddo (Visual 2026), Abigail Smith (Theatre 2027) and courtroom artist Lola Saldana (Visual 2025) joined mock trial this school year. The 2024 team's lawyer advisors are Abby Mathews and Bill Gameros who are joined by Booker T's longtime advisor & enrichment teacher Satchel Victory and new faculty advisor Maddie Fulton. This will be the sixth year in a row that Booker T advances to State. Rounding out the top teams in DISD were Woodrow Wilson (2nd), Judge Barefoot Sanders Law Magnet (3rd) and Skyline (4th).
The winner of the DISD Courtroom Artist Competition was Booker T's Lola Saldana. She will also be advancing to the State level. (Note that courtroom artists' submissions are judged separately from the rest of the team.)
In addition to the team honors, Team Captain Isabel Gameros received a best witness nomination, meaning she was among the top eight witnesses district wide.
Booker T Mock Trial will compete in the 45th Annual Texas High School Mock Trial Competition held in March.
Mock Trial Team