District Accolades | January 2018

January 2018 Board Meeting

Congratulations to the 2017-2018 district Teachers of the Year who were announced last week at a reception held in their honor. They are:

  • Josue Tamarez Torres, fifth-grade math, Annie Webb Blanton Elementary School
  • Beth Poquette Drews, mariachi, orchestra, guitar for grades 6-8, L.V. Stockard Middle School
  • Nedra Johnson, science for grades 6-8, Alex W. Spence Middle School
  • The teachers each received $5,000 from Central Market.

Lizbeth Alonso, a student at Solar Prep, has been nationally recognized as the NABE Elementary School Student of the Year.