District Accolades - 11/21/2013

District Accolades From the November 21, 2014 Board Meeting

Twelve Dallas ISD high school teams advanced to the Academic Decathlon regional competitions.
The teams are: Bryan Adams, Emmett J. Conrad, Health Professions, Hillcrest, James Madison, Molina, Rangel, TAG, SEM, Spruce, Sunset and W.T. White. Also, in the Super Quiz, Spruce placed first in the medium school division. TAG and Rangel tied for first place in the large school division. Regionals will be held in Jan.

Dana Clark, a teacher at Rangel, was awarded the 2013 Ernest and Sarah Butler Award for Excellence in Science Teaching.
The award is presented by the Texas Medical Association and comes with a donation of $500 to the school.

Three teachers were named Teachers of the Year by the Greater East Dallas Chamber of Commerce.
The teachers are: Elizabeth Dry of Alex Sanger Elementary, Juli Powers of Gaston Middle School, and Amy Solorio of Bryan Adams High School.

Adelfa Botello Callejo Elementary School received an award for design excellence.
The school was named one of the Top Ten Designs at the 10th Annual Topping Out event. The award recognizes the teamwork behind the creation of outstanding buildings and developments that positively affect the Dallas/Fort Worth community.