District Accolades - 4/24/2014

District Accolades from the April 24, 2014 Board Meeting

Congratulations to our Dallas ISD Teacher of the Year Silvia Alonzo from John H. Reagan Elementary and Teacher Assistant of the Year Robin Jefferson from H.I. Holland.

Runners up for Teacher of the Year are: Dana Clark, Rangel Young Women’s Leadership School; Patrick McGhee, Woodrow Wilson HS; Travis Smith, “Trini” Garza Early College; and Emily Tang, Roosevelt HS.

Runners up for Teacher Assistant are: Gracie Gibson, Nathan Adams ES; Hector Sanchez, James Bowie ES; Elbert Lonzie, Elisha M. Pease ES; and Melanie Goodman, Eladio Martinez LC.

Hats off to the students and staff at TAG for being named the top public high school in the country by U.S. News and World Report. SEM also made the list at number 8. Other schools making the list include: Irma Rangel, Booker T. Washington, Judge Barefoot Sanders Law Magnet, School of Health Professions, School of Business and Management, Garza Early College and Kathlyn Joy Gilliam Collegiate Academy.

Congratulations to the Destination Imagination teams that will represent Dallas ISD at the global competition next month. The teams are: the Rosemont Bright Bison and Hashtag Happening; Toxic 6 from Bryan Adams; and TAG’s Ditzy Deities. The global competition will be held in Knoxville, Tennessee. Our students will compete with students from 15 different countries.

Kudos to our Superintendent Scholarship recipients. Sixty seniors were awarded $2,500 to help cover tuition and other college costs. Karina Brooke from W.T. White received an additional $1,000 as the Joe May Scholarship winner for having the highest GPA among the scholars.