District Accolades - 5/22/2014

District Accolades From the May 22, 2014 Board Meeting

Congratulations to the Scovell Scholarship Foundation winners.
Five district students were awarded $4,000 scholarships during a reception at the Hyatt Regency. The students are:
  • Jared Juarez, Hillcrest High School
  • Maria Molina, Hillcrest High School
  • Andrea Reyes, Franklin D. Roosevelt High School
  • Azah Tabufor, Bryan Adams High School
  • Tyneisha Westbrook, David W. Carter High School

Kudos to our Gates Millennium Scholars.
Five district students were awarded this prestigious scholarship. They are:
  • Diwas Adhikari – Emmett J. Conrad High School
  • Henry Cerda – W.W. Samuell High School
  • Emanuel Cortes – School for the Talented and Gifted at Yvonne A. Ewell Townview Center
  • Vanessa Ibarra –School of Science and Engineering at Yvonne A. Ewell Townview Center
  • Devin Haynes - Wilmer-Hutchins High School

Hats off to the Dallas ISD Counselor of the Year Yolanda Velazquez Cortes from Ann Richards Middle School. Cortes is an eight-year veteran in the field of education.