District Accolades -- 12/17/2015

December 17, 2015 Board Meeting


Trustee appointed to lead TEA

Congratulations to Trustee Mike Morath who has been tapped to lead the Texas Education Agency. Trustee Morath was appointed by Governor Greg Abbott to serve as the Texas Education Commissioner. Mr. Morath has been an integral part of the Dallas ISD Board of Trustees and has served the students of this district with great commitment and dedication since 2011.


Kudos to Multiple Careers Magnet

Every Christmas season, our students at the Multiple Careers Magnet High School spend a considerable amount of time carving wooden toys to donate to children facing serious health issues. The Dallas Morning News featured these incredible Multiple Careers students who make this happen each year. This is a great effort, and the students and their teacher, Mr. Terry Stotts, should be commended.  


School library gets $50,000 donation

Edward H. Cary Middle School received $50,000 to help bolster the school’s library budget. The donation was funded by Dollar General and PepsiCo. Three staffers also received all-expenses paid trips to Super Bowl 50 at the home stadium of the San Francisco 49ers.


School selected as a distinguished campus

Kudos to the students, principal and staff of Irma Rangel Young Women’s Leadership School on the school’s selection as a National Title l Distinguished School by the Texas Education Agency. Rangel is one of 100 schools selected for the national recognition based on its 2015 student achievement. This honor reflects the school’s success at helping students to make significant improvements academically.


District names top school leaders

Congratulations to Dallas ISD’s Principals of the Year. They are:

Tracie Washington, Billy Earl Dade Middle School, Secondary Principal of the Year.

Julie Singleton, H.I. Holland Elementary School, Elementary Principal of the Year.

Nakia Douglas, Barack Obama Male Leadership Academy, Magnet/Special Programs Principal of the Year.

Tanya Shelton, Richard Lagow Elementary School, was honored by her peers with the Principals Choice Award.