District Accolades -- 12/15/2016

December 15, 2016 Board Meeting  

Congratulations to the Dallas ISD 2016 Principals of the Year:

    • Elementary level—Lisa Lovato, Dan D. Rogers Elementary
    • Secondary level—Clarita Rivera, Young Women’s STEAM Academy at Balch Springs
    • Magnet/special programs—Sheila Brown, Rosie Collins Sorrells School of Education at Townview
    • Kieshla Wylie of H.I. Holland Elementary received the Principal’s Choice Award. 

Dallas ISD’s application for the Texas Association of School Business Officials’ Award of Merit for Purchasing and Operations was approved with Recognized Status. The award honors innovative school districts that implement best practices in the area of procurement services. 

More than 300 teachers and staff at Dallas ISD ACE schools were surprised with $400 gift cards from Target. The anonymous donor wanted to provide recognition for the incredible work being accomplished at these schools. 

Ruel Hamilton, founder of AmericSouth donated more than $100,000 to the Roosevelt High School feeder pattern. This is the largest donation ever received by the feeder pattern, and it will help upgrade technology throughout the schools in that feeder pattern. 

Dallas ISD teacher Eric Hale shared his perspective on education as one of 12 Texas teachers who met in Austin on Tuesday with Gov. Greg Abbott and members of an education task force. Hale is a third-grade math teacher at David G. Burnet Elementary School, and is one of the district’s Top 100 teachers. 

Congratulations to the Bryan Adams Tech Crew which placed first in the Texas Techie Challenge. The team competed with more than 50 high schools across the state. 

Kudos to the Gaston Middle School robotics club for their performance in the Greenville ISD’s VEX robotics event. Gaston had three teams to place in several categories and Team Alpha won the Think Award for developing the best strategic plan to solve the game challenge.