District Accolades -- 05/26/2017

May 25, 2017 Board Meeting

Five dancers from Booker T. Washington High School for the Performing and Visual Arts have been accepted to study dance at the Juilliard School, one of the most prestigious performing arts universities in the nation.

  • Todd Baker
  • Kade Cummings
  • Michael Garcia
  • Ricardo Hartley
  • Zane Unger 

Two of these students—Todd Baker and Kade Cummings are also 2017 Presidential Scholars in the Arts. 

Twenty-one seniors from James Madison, Lincoln and Irma Rangel were recently awarded the annual $6,000 Pete Schenkel scholarships from the State Fair of Texas. 

The cafeteria team at Henry B. Gonzalez Elementary won the Food Services Department’s Heart of Child Nutrition Award for the second year in a row. 

Albert S. Johnston Elementary School Nurse Angelique Sanders was named the Dallas ISD 2016–2017 Health Services Employee of the Year!

The School of Science & Engineering Academic Decathlon team represented Texas in the Online Academic Decathlon National Competition and finished sixth in the nation in the small school category! 

The culinary class at Wilmer Hutchins HS performed a live demo of their Kids Fit Menu creations for the Neiman Marcus culinary leadership at the Neiman Marcus Café in NorthPark. The students worked for over a month with Medical City Hospital dietitians on their creations, doing the nutritional facts of their meals.  For the meals Neiman Marcus chooses, the culinary program and students will be listed on their Kids Fit Menu as the creators. 

Shareefah Nadir-Mason, History teacher at Zumwalt Middle School, was awarded the Credit Union of Texas $10,000 William Cotton Scholarship. Ms. Nadir-Mason will use the funds to pursue her doctorate degree. 

Four students from the Townview School of Science and Engineering are headed to MIT this summer for a 4-week program. These students have been working since February to earn a spot in the program! 

  • Daschel Cooper
  • Matthew Callahan
  • Amjar Syedibrahim
  • Ameer  Syedibrahim

The Marsh Preparatory Academy Leadership Cadet Corp earned three championship titles in the 2017 Drill Battle of DFW last month. The Corp competed with schools from across the area and placed in five out of six categories, taking the top honors in three of those categories.

Marsh students also earned a gold medal in the Districtwide Championship Chess Tournament earlier this month. 

Gooch Elementary students received recognition at the Texas Motor Speedway for being top readers in the Speeding to Read program. The school was among 10 others in the Metroplex to earn a chance to take students to the Texas Motor Speedway to watch a six-lap NASCAR race and see their names flashed on the big screen. Students read books with a motorsport theme to encourage reading throughout the year. Nathan Adams Elementary also participated in the program. 

The National Academy Foundation recognized Justin F. Kimball High School’s Academy of Hospitality and Tourism and Academy of Engineering as distinguished academies this month. This is the third year for AOHT to have achieved this status and the first year for AOE’s recognition. There are only a few academies in the entire country to obtain this recognition! Way to go Knights!

Congratulations are in order for District 6’s elite running squads. The Kimball boys’ team advanced to the Region II Regional Track & Field Championships at the University of Texas at Arlington after being named the 2017 Conference 5A Boys Track & Field Area Champions. 

Kudos are also in order for the Carter High School Girls Track and Field team after being crowned the 2017 4A State Champions, and the school’s Boys Track and Field team is the 2017 4A State Runner-Up. 

Carter’s Sha’Carri Richardson took gold in both the 100- and 200-meter dash. Richardson broke her own Conf. 4A State Record from last year and set a new state record of 11.28-second finish in her 100-meter performance. 

Richardson was also part of Carter’s 4×100-meter relay team that won and set the state record for Conference 4A 4x100 this year as well. That team includes Jayla Smith, Sha’Carri Richardson, Deziree Porter, and Zhalyn Richards. 

The Sunset High School robotics team is the 2017 UIL Robotics State Champs for the Conference 5A-6A, First Tech Challenge Division. Students travelled to Austin to compete in challenges to design, build, program and operate robots that competed head-to-head with other teams.

The Dallas ISD 2017 Counselor of the Year is Aimey Cole from James Bowie Elementary.

Robert T. Hill Middle School earned the 2017 Silver National Healthy Schools Award by the Alliance for a Healthier Generation. Schools are recognized for their efforts to create healthier school environments. 

Also at Hill, three students will attend the West Point Middle School STEM workshop in New York City next week. The students were selected out of hundreds of applicants based on their strong academic performance and interest in pursuing college.